Is the furnace cranked up high in your life?

12 But there are some Jews whom you have set over the affairs of the province of Babylon—Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego—who pay no attention to you, Your Majesty. They neither serve your gods nor worship the image of gold you have set up.” 13 Furious with rage, Nebuchadnezzar summoned Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego. So these men were brought before the king, 14 and Nebuchadnezzar said to them, “Is it true, Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego, that you do not serve my gods or worship the image of gold I have set up? 15 Now when you hear the sound of the horn, flute, zither, lyre, harp, pipe and all kinds of music, if you are ready to fall down and worship the image I made, very good. But if you do not worship it, you will be thrown immediately into a blazing furnace. Then what god will be able to rescue you from my hand?” 16 Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego replied to him, “King Nebuchadnezzar, we do not need to defend ourselves before you in this matter. 17 If we are thrown into the blazing furnace, the God we serve is able to deliver us from it, and he will deliver us[c] from Your Majesty’s hand. 18 But even if he does not, we want you to know, Your Majesty, that we will not serve your gods or worship the image of gold you have set up.” 19 Then Nebuchadnezzar was furious with Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego, and his attitude toward them changed. He ordered the furnace heated seven times hotter than usual 20 and commanded some of the strongest soldiers in his army to tie up Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego and throw them into the blazing furnace. 21 So these men, wearing their robes, trousers, turbans and other clothes, were bound and thrown into the blazing furnace. 22 The king’s command was so urgent and the furnace so hot that the flames of the fire killed the soldiers who took up Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego, 23 and these three men, firmly tied, fell into the blazing furnace. 24 Then King Nebuchadnezzar leaped to his feet in amazement and asked his advisers, “Weren’t there three men that we tied up and threw into the fire?” They replied, “Certainly, Your Majesty.” 25 He said, “Look! I see four men walking around in the fire, unbound and unharmed, and the fourth looks like a son of the gods.” 26 Nebuchadnezzar then approached the opening of the blazing furnace and shouted, “Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego, servants of the Most High God, come out! Come here!” So Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego came out of the fire, 27 and the satraps, prefects, governors and royal advisers crowded around them.They saw that the fire had not harmed their bodies, nor was a hair of their heads singed; their robes were not scorched, and there was no smell of fire on them.

Daniel 3

I was working my part time Christian book store job, it was super busy because of Christmas season. I was checking out a customer and laid eyes on a large wooden plaque (about 3′ by 3′) a customer next to her had. It read “but if not, Daniel 3”. I couldn’t shake it. So on my break, I looked it up. I was eating, breathing and drinking the Word of God. It was just shortly after my grenade exploded in my marriage and I was clinging to every resource God gave to me to hold me above water. To God’s glory, the words jumped off my phone Bible app and into my heart like water to my parched soul. Gulp gulp gulp!

Some things to observe:

  • The person that, by any means, Shadrach, Meshack and Abednego should’ve been fearing was angry…and with them…personally! He was powerful, ruler, declaring what they should be doing. The punishment? Not a swift death, a burning alive death. That didn’t shake them. Their foundation was secure, confident, sure. Their faith is something to marvel. Their hope wasn’t built on the problems of this world, so their faith wasn’t shaken when problems came. 
  • He tempted them again. They stood firm the first time. They didn’t bow down. But do you think you would have the second time Satan came to tempt you? We do it everyday in different measures after all.
  • Here’s the kicker that got me, The men’s response:

“King Nebuchadnezzar, we do not need to defend ourselves before you in this matter. 17 If we are thrown into the blazing furnace, the God we serve is able to deliver us from it, and he will deliver us[c] from Your Majesty’s hand. 18 But even if he does not, we want you to know, Your Majesty, that we will not serve your gods or worship the image of gold you have set up.”

  • Shadrach, Meshack and Abednego said confidently in the Lord, “we do not need to defend ourselves”. This spoke to me instantly. I always feel the need to explain myself, to defend myself. During that week, there were repeated urges to explain myself, defend myself to people accusing me of a lot of things. Self-control was a big one for me, is a big one for me. I wanted to clarify, to speak truth and everyone get in a big circle and hash it all out. Don’t defend yourself. I am your Defender. Give this all to Me. Thank you God because what little bit I did attempt to clarify backfired.
  • They had faith that God would deliver them from the fiery furnace if He willed it, BUT IF NOT, they’ll still choose God and His ways. How many times have you prayed “God, please heal ____. Jesus, I pray for a job. Jesus, I pray for the tornado to disappear……but if not, let your will be done.” Why do we pray this? Just like Shadrach, Meshack and Abednego, we understand that IF NOT, God’s Will is always greater than anything we desire. If we can get to a place where our heart says “but if not”, wow the freedom. Lord, give me this heart all the time.
  • They were tossed in – after the furnace was cranked to max. That’s not the end. Jesus was in the furnace with them. They weren’t alone. Did Jesus just appear when they were tossed in or was he there the whole time? Jesus was right there beside them in their hot, fiery, storm of life. Either way, they knew they were going to see God, either a miracle on Earth or in Heaven. Just like these 3 guys had Jesus in the furnace, Jesus is with you in your personal fiery furnace. Protecting you and keeping your hope secure. Something to give Him praise about.
  • God used this whole situation for His glory. Then he promoted them. Wow God.

Stick with your faith and pleasing the Lord. You can’t go wrong. Your treasure is in Heaven. Jesus is with you in whatever furnace you’re facing.

In love and hope,

Chelsea

Leave a comment